Recent Comments

Foreign Operating Updates

From ARRL Headquarters and its Bulletin 34 for all Amateur Radio operators, there was an FCC Updates Notice on Amateur Radio Operation in CEPT Countries

In sharing the FCC bulletin, the Commission has updated its Public Notice on Amateur Radio operation in European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations (CEPT). Included are countries that have adopted certain recommendations regarding the United States.

The updated notice, in English, German, and French, includes some additional countries where operation is permitted. Licensees operating in CEPT countries must have a copy of the Public Notice, proof of US citizenship, and evidence of an FCC Amateur Radio license grant.

These must be shown to “proper authorities” upon request.

Readers of the eDipole who desire additional CEPT information are invited to visit

Also, the Public Notice can be found in PDF format at

Subject to regulations in force in the country visited, a US citizen holding an FCC General, Advanced, or Amateur Extra Class Amateur Radio license grant “is authorized to utilize temporarily an Amateur Station in a [CEPT] country that has implemented certain recommendations with respect to the United States,” according to the notice.

Advanced or Amateur Extra class operators are granted CEPT Radio Amateur License privileges, in accordance with CEPT Recommendation T/R 61-01 (as amended). General class operators are granted CEPT Novice Radio Amateur License privileges, in accordance with ECC Recommendation (05)06 (as amended).

As of September 16, 2016, CEPT countries participating in CEPT Recommendation T/R 61-01 are the following:

Albania, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark (including Greenland, and the Faroe Islands), Estonia, Finland, France (including Corsica, Guadeloupe, French Guyana, Martinique, St Bartholomew, St Pierre and Miquelon, St Martin, Reunion and its Dependencies, Mayotte, French Antarctica, French Polynesia and Clipperton, New Caledonia, and Wallis and Futuna), Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, and the United Kingdom (including Great Britain, Northern Ireland, the Channel Islands, and the Isle of Man).

CEPT countries participating in ECC Recommendation (05)06 as of September 16, 2016 are Austria, Belgium, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark (including Greenland, and the Faroe Islands), Finland, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Moldova, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, and Switzerland.

Information regarding countries participating in CEPT Recommendation\ T/R 61-01 and Recommendation (05)06 after September 16, 2016 is available from the European Communications Office (ECO).

The Public Notice includes complete details. For more information, contact Scot Stone, FCC Wireless Telecommunications Bureau, (202) 418-0638, or via email at, .

One Response to Foreign Operating Updates

  1. louis shapiro Reply

    September 26, 2016 at 3:47 pm

    i thought Israel was q CEPT country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *